Sometimes our town needs a building and the elected officials ask townspeople to lead in the planning and construction. We don’t have records from the 19th century, but here is a little about public buildings since 1900.


1902 -


Cedar School in 2004 picture. It is now a private home


We don’t have the names of the elected School Committee for this time of the planning and building of this schoolhouse. Harry S. Brown was the elected Superintendent at the time. The building was constructed in the period 1901 – 02. The building is at the top of Gooch Hill.




1957 – 1987

This image of Alexander School was taken in 1995. The building burned after 1987.

This building stood at the intersection of the Arm and Cooper Roads. This name distinguished this school from the one-room schools that had existed in Alexander over the previous 135 years. Alexander School replaced Hale School, Cedar School and the Four Corners School. It was called the Consolidated School at first. For the first ten years of its existence the Town of Cooper sent its elementary children here.

The people most responsible for the creation of this building were school committee members Everett Dwelley, Floyd Hunnewell, Benjamin H. McArthur and Superintendent Carroll R. McGary. They were active in 1955 when the school building committee was formed.





In September 1987 Alexander Elementary School, on the Airline Road, became home for Alexander kindergarten through grade eight students. This picture taken in 1991.

The school committee members during the planning and construction of this schoolhouse were Roger Holst, Sherrie Parks, Maxine Seavey, Linda McArthur, Merle Knowles, JR and Gerald Cooper. Known members of the building committee were Roger Holst, Merle Knowles JR, Tim Sanford, and Pat Foley.




By 1992 members of the Alexander Volunteer Fair Department had outgrown their fire hall, the former Hale schoolhouse. Dave Sullivan invited selectman John Dudley to one of their meetings where ideas where discussed about how to solve the problem. The firemen gave great detail as to what they felt would be a long term solution for equipment storage. At the same time, the selectmen and town clerk realized that the rented trailer town office was also too small.

Not long after that, selectmen Pat Harris and John Dudley met, studied the HUD Community Block Grant rules, and decided that our town needs matched CBG requirements. An application was completed with more input from firemen, town clerk, and town’s people.

HUD approved the grant and at a special town meeting on July 19, 1993, voters approved using $35,000 of local funds for the matching monies to get nearly $250,000 in CBG funds. A building committee was formed, an architect hired, plans drawn and approved, and a contractor hired.

Construction took place in the spring and summer of 1994. Firemen donated 1389 hours helping prepare the lot and painting. Chief Edward “Crash” Burgess was clerk of the works and accounted for over 600 hours of that time. Town Clerk Deanne Greenlaw donated nearly 1000 hours as administrator for the project. These hours, plus hours and materials donated by other local people, had a value of over $45,000.

On September 18, 1994, over 100 local residents gathered on site to celebrate the hose cutting and opening ceremonies for the fire hall and town office. But some things didn’t get done. The grounds were not finished because the committee voted to use the funds to make the building as good as possible.

Over the years several questions have been asked repeatedly about the building. What is that new building over on the Cooper Road?” And from those who knew it was our fire hall and town office, “Why don’t we have a flag there?”

In 1999, John Dudley of the Alexander – Crawford Historical society realized that 2000 would be the 175th anniversary of Alexander’s incorporation. He took some ideas that had come from local citizens to the selectmen with the question, “Should the Town create something special for this anniversary?” The selectmen choose three ideas that all related to landscaping at this building; a flagpole, a building sign, and a veterans’ monument.

Voters approved funds at the June 28, 1999 town meeting and the selectmen appointed a committee to bring the idea to reality. That committee was made up of Shirley McCall, Norma Donahue, Roger Holst, Crash Burgess, David Davis, and John Dudley. They met over the winter of 1999 – 2000. The results of those meetings set the stage. Numerous volunteers changed this site into what you see today. All committee members did many extra jobs. Fred Wallace with his backhoe helped install the base for the flagpole and the signposts. Jimmy Davis and his cement mixer and truck helped with the flagpole base and hauling earth for the flowers. Donnie Moriasey helped place the landscape ties. Smets’ monument provided the sandblasting on the monument, and Jack Smith moved the electric wires. Again, members of the fire department spruced-up the building and yard for the day. Jane Manza, Tonya Troiani, and Liz Carter worked with Shirley and Norma on the flowers.

On July 1, 2000 over 80 people witnessed the dedication of the flagpole, the sign, and the veterans’ monument. Scout Troop 127 ran-up the flag for the first time and lead us in the Pledge of Allegiance. Pike Seavey (USMC), chairman of the Selectmen, thanked the town’s people for funding the project and the volunteers for their work. Roger Holst (USN) recognized Alexander veterans and introduced guest speaker Major General Peter Berry (ret) U.S. Army. General Berry spoke of the dedication of men in the military and of his concerns that we and our government too often forget them after they have served. Reverend Robert Chamberland (USAF) of the Alexander Church of the Open Bible gave the closing prayer.


The location, size and construction of this building was approved at the June 2002 Budget Town Meeting. Construction was by a contractor under the supervision of the Selectmen who were Howard Pike Seavey, Roger Holst, Jimmy Davis, Mark Johnson and Fred Wallace.

In 2004 town’s people decided to create a plan for Alexander’s future. Roger Holst was the selectman charged with leading this effort. Roger served as chair and appointed six people who formed the core group that met 22 times over two years. They were Tim Sanford, Deanne Greenlaw, Charlie Dix, Foater Carlow, JR, John Dudley, and David McVicar. Others came to meetings that dealt with specific subjects; they were Earl Hill, John Foley, Bob Hazelwood, Roland Paegle, Carl Oakes, Pedro Cejias, Jimmy Davis and David Sullivan. Judy East of the Washington County Council of Governments served as facilitor.

By May 2006 the project was completed and the Plan, dated July 2006, was presented to the town’s people. It contained eleven parts; Vision & Executive Summary, History, Population, Natural Resources, Employment & Economy, Housing, Recreation, Transportation, Public Facilities & Services, Fiscal Capacity and Land Use. The Plan was adopted on March 26, 2007 at the Annual Town Meeting.


Today the Secretary of State appoints Justices of the Peace and Notaries. The town report in 2012 lists the following Notaries: Dennis Brown, Ronald Gardiner, Deanne Greenlaw, Patsy Hill, Melva Long, Wendy Martin, Wendy Maxwell, Vicki McVicar & Dana Porter.

Records from the past show that the following were serving as Justices of the Peace during the year listed:

1835 – Ebenezer Ingalls

1840 – William Spring

1841 – William Spring

1842 – William Spring, Moses J. Hackett

1843 - Manly B. Townsend, Belcher W. Tyler, Asa Libby, Joel Scott, Moses J. Hackett, William Spring

1844 - Charles Cottell

1846 – Asa Libby

1847 – Daniel Staples

1848 – William Spring

1849 - Henry P. Whitney

1850 - William Spring

1855 – Belcher Tyler

1858 – Belcher W. Tyler

1859 – Belcher W. Tyler

1863 – Henry P. Whitney

1867 – Abner S. Townsend